Being Present

I’ve been avidly watching The Retreat and in today’s episode the concept of being “present” was introduced to the group. I’ll probably write up my thoughts off the whole documentary after the final part but something that was a “pause to reflect” moment for me was when Sidi Abdullah (the teacher at the retreat) said that to truly be present in the moment you are in, you have to let go of the past- if you have things from the past klonking their way in to the present moment, you’re not really being present.

This reminded me of what a dear sister said to me trying to console me the time I had to go to a barbecue when my heart was somewhere else. She said that Shaykh Hamza Yusuf once spoke of the people of Mauritania and how they lived in the present moment. So for me it was “you’re in a situation that you can’t get out of, so make the most of it, give it all your attention and presence and enjoy it”.

NomadicSoul and I were later discussing being “present” and what “moments” are/could potentially be…she asked me something and I didn’t realise till a while later so I began answering only to find that the “moment” had gone…lol.

~ by usma on 5, March, 2007.

2 Responses to “Being Present”

  1. Salaams Usma,

    Being present in the moment is one of the most important, and thus difficult, things to achieve. It’s a strong feature (in one form or another) of virtually every Sufi group’s teaching.

    In my own case, I’m working with the Threshold Society (part of the Mevlevi tariqa) and the whole focus of their work is also to develop this presence.

    I’ve blogged on this topic:

    http://thecorner.wordpress.com/2006/12/23/lack-of-presence-is-bad-for-the-health/

    Ma’as salama,
    Abdur Rahman

  2. Wasalam,

    A teacher gave an example of being “ibn al waqt”- son of the moment. Say, you were giving a lecture and teaching, but then you’re mother came and asked you for a glass of water, your priorities would change then as it is your duty to serve your mother. Or if the adhan goes, it’s obligatory for you to answer that call so you leave what you are doing in order to fulfill that.

    So being Present, you could say, is about doing the right thing, at the right time, in the right way?

Leave a Reply

 
