Living in the U.S.

I wrote this a few months ago, but never got around to posting it.

//

Lovely weather, big roads, nice houses, alot of food (great cheesecake!) and the people are nice (well the one’s I’ve met anyway) but nothing compares to home, wherever that may be. The main thing that’s felt different here, compared to London, is the visibility of Muslims out and about and Muslim catered events and just how quiet it seems around here. Coming from London (East London), I’m so used to being surrounded by Muslims (majority Asian); my neighbours, my work colleagues, classmates, the bus drivers and even some policemen. I’m now in an area where the majority of people are White and not Muslim. The first couple of times I visited here I never saw an Asian person or Muslim and it was so quiet! Now having been here for a couple of months, it’s been pretty much the same, the only sisters I’ve seen were at these weekly gatherings that I attended a couple of times and the first bearded dude I saw was in Target the other day. Not to say that there aren’t any Moozies out here, but you just don’t see alot of them.

I miss London, my home. So we might have “bad” weather, and some weird Muslims but there is a very diverse community there. My neighbours were a mix of Muslim Bengali ( with whom we very close), Muslim Pakistani, Muslim Gujerati, Muslim Afghani, White Christian, Indian Hindu, Indian Sikh etc etc. Where I lived, we had at least five mosques within a stone’s throw of each other, most of which catered for women; that had events and activities for women; a place where all the aunties would hang out. Most of all, there has been a growth of Islamic culture and art at local levels and related events that young Muslims and non muslims can attend. So much is happening there to educate non muslims  (and Muslims) about Islam, from local Muslim fun days to theatre group productions, to documentaries on mainstream t.v and our very own Islam Channel and radio stations during Ramadhan. London has also been so blessed to have Shuyukh such as Shaykh Hamza and Imam Zaid visit from the U.S visit on a number of occasions, and of course we have our very own Shaykh Abdal Hakim Murad.

Here I feel disconnected from issues affecting (young) Western Muslims whereas in London I felt so involved with projects and events tackling issues effecting our community (and by community I refer to the wider community too, not just the Moozies). Travelling on the tube, at uni, at work etc, so many oppurtunities to “show” Islam. Not studying or working here at the moment I don’t feel I have those oppurtunities, again not saying that there aren’t any but that I have not had the chance to “get out there” and explore.

I liked seeing Islam out on the streets in London, you didn’t feel like a sore thumb walking out in hijab and jilbab there, but around here it seems different but at the same time you won’t be preached on for wearing tunics and skirts/trousers and not jilbabs and a khimar which is seen by some as the only acceptable dress for women. I must admit, I found the closed mentality of some Muslims back home really frustrating, especially in our Islamic Society at university but that’s another topic in itself.

Anyway, so I miss London, my home, and I’m starting to wonder about Jordan. What are the people going to be like there; majority Muslim, yes, but what about their culture and Islamic outlook? I will miss seeing the different colours, cultures and diversity I used to see in London, along with all the cool things to do there (as well as here). Ah, we shall see, but I hope I find some cool Muslims there, like the one’s back home; I haven’t had the chance here (except for a couple of people 🙂 🙂 ).

Central Park

~ by usma on 17, November, 2008.

One Response to “Living in the U.S.”

  1. awww!usma u r really missed in London too!

Leave a Reply

 
